A group of community leaders dedicated to rethinking learning

EducateNKY is a local non-profit dedicated to ensuring that the Northern Kentucky education landscape is one of the best at meeting the needs of families and learners. To do this, we gathered a group of local leaders and committed volunteers who envision an education ecosystem that ignites every eager, vibrant mind. We are dedicated to expanding existing and new opportunities and improving outcomes for all children and their families through the exploration and adoption of innovative approaches to prenatal-12 education in the region.

Our Vision

A Northern Kentucky education ecosystem that ignites every eager, vibrant mind.

Our Mission

Improve outcomes for all children and their families through the exploration and adoption of innovative approaches to prenatal-12 education in the Northern Kentucky region.

A Northern Kentucky education ecosystem that ignites every eager, vibrant mind.
EducateNKY Values

EducateNKY Values

  • Truth

    We are a data-informed, data-driven, and data-refined organization.

  • Authenticity

    We collaborate with passionate people who teach, work, live in, and are wholly committed to making an impact in NKY.

  • Transparency

    Solutions, not stop-gaps. We address the realities, inequities, and toughest challenges facing NKY families.

  • Bravery

    We are unafraid to lead the charge and advocate for every child and family in our community.

  • Optimism

    There is no challenge too big or complex.

EducateNKY Governance Board

Catrena Bowman

Catrena Bowman

Executive Director, NKY Community Action Commission

Garren Colvin

Garren Colvin

President & CEO, St. Elizabeth Healthcare

Normand Desmarais

Normand Desmarais

Co-Founder, Tier 1 Performance Solutions

Karen Finan

President & CEO, OneNKY Alliance

Greg Fischer

Greg Fischer

Board Chair / Chairman, Fischer Homes

Tim Fogarty

Tim Fogarty

Chief Executive Officer, WCM Holdings, Inc.

Robert Heil

Exec Director of Strategic Relationships & Community Engagement, KLH Engineers, Inc.

Jack Kenkel

Treasurer / Retired President, Victory Bank

Alaria Long

Alaria Long

PhD Student Representative, UC Irvine
(Recent Covington Holmes Graduate)


Brian Neal

Chief Executive Officer, Accelerate Great Schools

Lynn Schaber

Lynn Schaber

Secretary / Community Volunteer

Chuck Session

Executive in Residence, Northern Kentucky United Way

Matthew Smith

Matt Smith

Legal Counsel / Attorney-at-Law, Ziegler & Schneider, P.S.C.


Jim Votruba

Vice Chair / President Emeritus, Northern Kentucky University


Cheye Calvo

Cheye Calvo

President & CEO

Nancy Costello

Nancy Costello

Logistics and Communications Lead

Tom Haggard

Tom Haggard

Vice President – Community Engagement, Development & Advocacy

Advisory Council

Jay Becker Founder/President, BLDG
Amy Neal Bundy Founder and President, Bingham Strategy Group
Joseph Chillo President, Thomas More University
Mike Clines State Representative, District 68
Mary Kay Connolly Director, Read Ready Covington
Brent Cooper President/CEO,  NKY Chamber of Commerce
Lee Crume President & CEO, BE NKY Growth Partnership
Theresa Cruz President/CEO,  FIESTA NKY
Susan Douglas CEO,  Girl Scouts/KWRC
Greg Duty Superintendent, Southgate Independent Schools
Correy Eimer Associate Director of Workforce Development, NKY Area Development District
Ginni Fair Dean, College of Education, Northern Kentucky University
Fernando Figueroa President, Gateway Community & Tech. College
Alvin Garrison Superintendent, Covington Independent Schools
Sarah Giolando-Matlin SVP/Chief Strategy Officer, St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Nancy Grayson President/CEO, Horizon Community Funds
of NKY
Carmen Hickerson Independent Consultant, NKY Region
Bill Hogan Director of Innovation, Boone County Schools
Jordan Huizenga VP of Development,  Beech Acres
Lauren Huizenga General Counsel, Wendel Inc.
Dave Knox Executive Director, Blue North
Kendra McGuire Superintendent, Diocese of Covington
Ross Meyer VP, Strategy, Interact for Health
Misty Middleton Superintendent, Bellevue Independent Schools
Dr. Jennifer Mooney District Director of Health, NKY Health Department
Rosanne Nields VP, Planning & Govt Rel., St. Elizabeth Healthcare
Charle Peck Consultant/Speaker, Thriving Educator, LLC
Mark Perkins Principal Broker, Pivot Realty
Kristi Phillips Dir. Of Ed. Initiatives, Cincinnati Regional Business Com.
Randy Poe President/CEO, Northern Kentucky Ed. Council
Terri Rentrop Head of School, Community Montessori
Jeff Sackenheim President & CEO, SHP
Dave Schroeder Executive Director, Kenton County Public Library
Mike Sipple, Jr. CEO, Talent Magnet Institute and Centennial
Melissa Hall Sommer Senior Vice-President, Brighton Center
Shannon Starkey-Taylor CEO, Learning Grove
Stacie Strotman Executive Director, Covington Partners
Tony Watts Superintendent, Newport Independent Schools
Amy Weber Chief Impact Officer, United Way of Greater Cincinnati
Shelli Wilson Superintendent, Campbell County Schools
Sandra Woodall Executive Director/CEO, EC LEARN
Jim Wulfeck Partner, Center for Great Work Performance
Rick Wurth Chief Executive Officer, CHNK Behavioral Health

Latest News

© Copyright - EducateNKY | site designed by WebTec